another Phishing Attempt–this one interesting

Just got another phishing attempt, this one slightly more legit looking, because the domain name is e-wamu.com, which was just recently (last week) registered to a Melody Young. I had thought that ICANN is requiring using real info on domain registrations (although I do know for a fact that they’re not doing any rigorous checking). I don’t have the energy to give this person a call to see if they know of anyone who would have registered this domain using their name, though.


the text:

Dear Customer,

Sorry for disturbing you, but we have to check your ATM card details.

The management of our bank has made a decision to switch to new transfers security methods because of frequent fraudulent operations. The new updated technologies will ensure the security of your payments through our bank. As both software and hardware will be updated, some personal data will be lost inevitably. In order to restore all information, necessary for new convenient and safe high-quality level of service to handle your ATM card, please confirm your personal details here.

Login Here To Private Secure Server: http://www.e-wamu.com/login.php

Looking forward to your understanding,

Sincerely,
WAMU Banks Inc., Account Review Department

“The management of our bank”?!!! duh.
updated software/hardware causing loss of data?!!! wouldn’t want to bank there. Although i’ve heard of other bad handling of data by an organization that should have known better (granted it wasn’t a bank).

  • http://www.smartbrother.org jon

    How could i have missed:

    Looking forward to your understanding,

    lol–semi-engrish in the house

    j.